Did the World Change?

The plan for my Friday Posts was to stay away from politics and talk about fun things like guns, knives, and other gear. While, I still plan on doing that in the future, I think the action the United States took last night deserves a different kind of post. Last night I was sitting on the couch watching Netflix with Mrs. CountryBoy1776, she looked at Facebook and said the President bombed Syria. She then asked what does this mean? I pulled up twitter to she what she was talking about. I found first that President Trump decided to bomb the airbase in Syria that was used to launch the chemical attack on the Syrian people.

Mrs. CountryBoy1776 again asked me why would we do this? I explained that Dictator Assad had used chemical weapons on his people and President Trump talked about how the pictures had greatly moved him and he said he felt as if he had to take action. I sat there in shock and had as many mixed feelings about the situation as were represented on twitter. Some people said, “It’s about time we had a President with balls” to “His actions are not Constitutional because it was an act of War and he did not ask Congress.” My first reaction was this is not a good thing. We talked about how this could lead to World War III because of Assad’s ties with Russia, Iran, and other bad guys in the region. We will just have to see how it goes. Mrs. CountryBoy1776 then asked how is this different from us helping the Jews against the Nazis? I hemmed and hawed about how Assad and Syria were in a Civil War, there were not any designs on expansion by Assad that Hitler had on the world. Some of the other thoughts I had were dead is dead. Does it really matter if it was a regular bomb or a chemical bomb? I knew one thing for sure though we have a President that cares for people if his statement about the images taken after the Chemical bombing are what prompted him to take action.

Many of us know a nights sleep can bring clarity to an issue. When I woke up this morning I had the thought that I would rush to the aid of a woman who was being abused by a male. The quote from Edmund Burke also ran through my mind. “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” In this I am hoping and praying the action taken last night will be the end of it. With Russia reportedly moving more air defenses in to Syria to protect Assad, I am not sure this will be the case. Are we looking down the barrel of World War III? Maybe, only time will tell. One thing I think we can put to rest was the collusion between Russia and Trump to steal the election.

Leave a Reply

